42 Attorneys General Urge Congress to Fund Legal Services Corporation


42 Attorneys General Urge Congress to Fund Legal Services Corporation

A bipartisan coalition of 42 attorneys general, led by Montana Attorney General Tim Fox and Massachusetts Attorney General Maura Healey, recently wrote to the U.S. House and U.S. Senate Committees on Appropriations to request funding for the Legal Services Corporation (LSC) in the Fiscal Year 2020 Commerce, Justice, Science and Related Agencies Appropriations bill.

LSC is a nonprofit legal services organization established by Congress in 1974 to promote equal access to justice for all Americans by funding independent nonprofit legal aid programs across the county. LSC provides millions of dollars in funding to legal aid organizations that serve and support low-income individuals, veterans and military families, seniors, survivors of domestic violence, victims of natural disasters, and disabled individuals.

“LSC provides critical funding to grantees like the Montana Legal Services Association,” said Attorney General Tim Fox. “In turn, MLSA helps people of limited means across Montana, including those in Indian Country, achieve justice and improve their lives in times of need. It’s imperative for Congress to help LSC continue its 45 year history of providing legal services to constituents all across the country,” Fox added.

LSC distributes more than 90 percent of its funding to 132 independent nonprofit legal aid programs with more than 800 offices. It is headed by a bipartisan board of directors whose 11 members are appointed by the President and confirmed by the Senate.

Attorneys General Fox and Healey were joined by attorneys general from American Samoa, California, Colorado, Connecticut, Delaware, District of Columbia, Florida, Georgia, Guam, Hawaii, Idaho, Illinois, Indiana, Iowa, Kentucky, Maine, Maryland, Michigan, Minnesota, Mississippi, Nebraska, Nevada, New Hampshire, New Jersey, New Mexico, New York, North Carolina, North Dakota, Northern Mariana Islands, Oklahoma, Oregon, Pennsylvania, Rhode Island, South Dakota, Tennessee, Vermont, Virginia, Washington, and Wisconsin.

Skip to content