AG Fox Joins Bipartisan Coalition Urging Congress to Help Protect Employees from Sexual Harassment


AG Fox Joins Bipartisan Coalition Urging Congress to Help Protect Employees from Sexual Harassment

Attorney General Tim Fox joined a bipartisan coalition of 56 states and territories today urging Congress to end secret, forced arbitration in cases of workplace sexual harassment. Too often, employees are required to sign employment contracts containing arbitration agreements mandating that sexual harassment claims be resolved through private arbitration instead of the judicial process. The secrecy surrounding these proceedings can protect serial violators and provide inadequate relief to victims.

“All employees should expect to work in settings free of sexual harassment,” said Attorney General Tim Fox.  “Passing the type of legislation we are requesting would mean the rights of victims to be heard in court would be upheld, rather than victims being subjected to confidential arbitration proceedings.  I’m proud to join attorneys general around the country in asking Congress to uphold the rights of sexual harassment victims in a way that holds perpetrators publicly accountable for their actions.”

The attorneys general letter sent Monday to leaders in the United States House of Representative and the United States Senate asks Congress to pass appropriately-tailored legislation to ensure that sexual harassment victims have a right to their day in court.

“Congress today has both opportunity and cause to champion the rights of victims of sexual harassment in the workplace by enacting legislation to free them from the injustice of forced arbitration and secrecy when it comes to seeking redress from egregious misconduct condemned by all concerned Americans,” states the letter cosponsored by Florida Attorney General Pam Bondi and North Carolina Attorney General Josh Stein.

Attorneys general from the states, D.C., and five U.S. territories joined the letter: Alabama, Alaska, Arizona, Arkansas, Colorado, California, Connecticut, Delaware, Florida, Georgia, Hawaii, Idaho, Illinois, Indiana, Iowa, Kansas, Kentucky, Louisiana, Maine, Maryland, Massachusetts, Michigan, Minnesota, Mississippi, Missouri, Montana, Nebraska, Nevada, New Hampshire, New Jersey, New Mexico, New York, North Carolina, North Dakota, Ohio, Oklahoma, Oregon, Pennsylvania, Rhode Island, South Carolina, South Dakota, Tennessee, Texas, Utah, Vermont, Virginia, Washington, West Virginia, Wisconsin, Wyoming, the District of Columbia, American Samoa, Guam, Northern Mariana Islands, Puerto Rico, and the Virgin Islands.

A copy of the letter is available here.




Skip to content