Attorneys General Across Nation Ask Congress to Fund Anti-Human Trafficking Programs

Attorneys General Across Nation Ask Congress to Fund Anti-Human Trafficking Programs

Attorney General Tim Fox, along with 46 other state and territorial attorneys general, sent a letter /wp-content/uploads/TVPA-Final-Letter-to-CJS.pdf asking Congress to fund the Trafficking Victims Protection Reauthorization Act (TVPRA).
This funding would go towards programs that fight human trafficking in the United States and abroad. Established in 2000, the TVPRA greatly increased America’s efforts to protect human trafficking victims, assist survivors, improve prevention methods and successfully prosecute human traffickers. The original legislation established human trafficking as a federal crime.
“The Montana Department of Justice has a continued commitment to the victims of human trafficking,” said Attorney General Tim Fox. “We’re working hard to educate Montanans and our law enforcement community about the signs of this form of modern day slavery, as we believe our best weapon against it is public awareness.”

According to the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services, after drug dealing, trafficking of humans is tied with arms dealing as the second-largest criminal industry in the world, generating about $32 billion each year.

Many victims of human trafficking are forced to work in prostitution or other areas of the sex industry. Trafficking also occurs in forms of labor exploitation, such as domestic servitude, restaurant work, janitorial work, sweatshop factory work and migrant agricultural work.
According to a study of U.S. Department of Justice human trafficking task force cases, 83 percent of sex trafficking victims identified in the United States were U.S. citizens. The average age that U.S. citizens are first used for commercial sex is 12–14.

A total of 47 state and territorial attorneys general signed the letter including Alabama, Alaska, Arizona, Arkansas, California, Colorado, Connecticut, Delaware, Florida, Georgia, Guam, Hawaii, Idaho, Illinois, Indiana, Iowa, Kansas, Kentucky, Louisiana, Maine, Maryland, Massachusetts, Michigan, Minnesota, Mississippi, Missouri, Montana, Nebraska, Nevada, New Hampshire, New Mexico, North Carolina, North Dakota, Northern Mariana Islands, Ohio, Oregon, Pennsylvania, Rhode Island, South Dakota, Tennessee, Texas, Utah, Vermont, Virgin Islands, Washington, Wisconsin and Wyoming.

Skip to content