Montana Highway Patrol Commissions Twelve New Troopers

Montana Highway Patrol Commissions Twelve New Troopers

The Montana Highway Patrol commissioned one dozen new troopers Friday at the 56th Advanced Academy Graduation ceremony. The event took place at the Red Lion Colonial Hotel in Helena.
“While I feel deeply grateful for the opportunity to work alongside extremely talented prosecutors, investigators, and forensic scientists, the men and women of the Patrol function as the some of the most visible ambassadors of our department,” Attorney General Tim Fox told the new troopers. “You embody the core values of ‘Service, Integrity and Respect’ as you drive more than 5.5 million miles each year, interacting with thousands of Montanans and visitors to our great state along the way.”

At the ceremony, four awards were presented:

Physical Fitness Award
Jourdon R. Gulick
Awarded for exemplary standards during the physical fitness curriculum in the 56th MHP Academy.

The Michael Haynes Memorial Grant
End of Watch March 27, 2009
This grant is presented to: Kirk M. Robbins
Awarded in loving memory of Trooper Michael W. Haynes – MHP 159 by his wife, Tawny Haynes Norton.

Academic Award
Kirk M. Robbins
Awarded for exemplary standards during the academic curriculum in the 56th MHP Academy

Camp Commander Award
Andrew J. Leigland
Awarded for exemplary standards and performance observed by the Camp Commanders in the 56th MHP Academy.

Members of the 56th academy class include:

Mark S. Bidne
Initial Station Assignment: Broadus
Hometown: Beresford, South Dakota

Jourdon R. Gulick
Initial Station Assignment: Sidney
Hometown: Montana City

David P. Inman
Initial Station Assignment: Forsyth
Hometown: Benson, Utah

Andrew J. Leigland
Initial Station Assignment: Dillon
Hometown: Great Falls

Jeremy E. Lundblad
Initial Station Assignment: Wolf Point
Hometown: Bozeman

Zachariah C. Miller
Initial Station Assignment: Sidney
Hometown: Ronan

Nikolaus A. Petrusaitis
Initial Station Assignment: Culbertson
Hometown: Hamilton

Aariad K.H. Ream
Initial Station Assignment: Glendive
Hometown: Grant, Michigan

Kirk M. Robbins
Initial Station Assignment: Hardin
Hometown: Layton, Utah

Laramie D. Stefani
Initial Station Assignment: Bigfork
Hometown: Whitefish

Brian C. Thorne
Initial Station Assignment: Kalispell
Hometown: Kalispell

Brandon A. Velasquez
Initial Station Assignment: Bozeman
Hometown: Naples, Florida

Any media interested in publishing a photo of a specific trooper should contact Department of Justice Deputy Communications Director Anastasia Burton at (406) 444-2026 to obtain a print- or web-resolution image.