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NOTICE 
To All Montana Licensed Tobacco Retailers 

December 10, 2015 
 

 

Effective January 1, 2016 

 

On April 28, 2015, “An Act Revising the Youth Access To Tobacco Products Control Act”, 

regarding “alternative nicotine products” and “vapor products”, 2015 Mont. Laws Ch. 337 (SB 

66) was signed by the Governor and became law.  The full text of SB 66 is found at the 

Legislative website located at LAWS Detailed Bill Information Page. 

 

There are several changes of particular interest to current and prospective Montana retailers.  

Retailers will be required to obtain and maintain an alternative nicotine or vapor products retailer 

license to sell either alternative nicotine products or vapor products from the Department of 

Revenue.  See, § 16-11-122(4) and § 16-11-303, MCA. 

 

Montana Law, at Montana Code Annotated, § 16-11-302(1), defines “alternative nicotine 

products” as: 

 

“any manufactured noncombustible product containing nicotine derived from tobacco 

that is intended for human consumption, whether chewed, absorbed, dissolved, or 

ingested by any other means.  The term does not include a tobacco product, a vapor 

product, or a product regulated as a drug or device by the United States food and drug 

administration under Chapter V of the Federal Food, Drug, and Cosmetic Act.” 

 

Montana Law, at Montana Code Annotated, § 16-11-302(7), defines “vapor product” as: 

 

“a noncombustible product that may contain nicotine and that uses a heating element, 

power source, electronic circuit, or other electronic, chemical, or mechanical means, 

regardless of shape or size, to produce vapor from a solution or other substance. The 

term includes an electronic cigarette, electronic cigar, electronic cigarillo, electronic 

pipe, or similar product or device and a vapor cartridge or other container that may 

contain nicotine in a solution or other form that is intended to be used with or in an 

electronic cigarette, electronic cigar, electronic cigarillo, electronic pipe, or similar 

product or devise.  The term does not include a product regulated as a drug or device 

by the United States food and drug administration under Chapter V of the Federal 

Food, Drug, and Cosmetic Act.” 

http://laws.leg.mt.gov/legprd/LAW0203W$BSRV.ActionQuery?P_SESS=20151&P_BLTP_BILL_TYP_CD=SB&P_BILL_NO=66&P_BILL_DFT_NO=&P_CHPT_NO=&Z_ACTION=Find&P_ENTY_ID_SEQ2=&P_SBJT_SBJ_CD=&P_ENTY_ID_SEQ=
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Retail point of sales of alternative nicotine products, or vapor products will be required to 

conspicuously display a sign provided without charge by the Department of Revenue that these 

products are not to be sold to persons under the age of 18 years.  See, § 16-11-304, MCA. 

 

Retailers are prohibited from selling or distributing alternative nicotine products, or vapor 

products to individuals under the age of 18 years, whether over the counter, by vending machine, 

or otherwise.  The seller may require presentation of a driver’s license or other generally accepted 

identification that includes a picture of the individual if there is reasonable doubt of the 

individual’s age.  See, § 16-11-305, MCA. 

 

Alternative nicotine products and vapor products can be sold through tobacco product vending 

machines.  These products are restricted in the same manner as tobacco products.  See, § 16-11-

306, MCA. 

 

Penalties and remedies for violation of sales to individuals under the age of 18 years are set forth 

in § 16-11-308, MCA, and may include, verbal and written warnings, tobacco education 

requirements, civil penalties, and/or suspension/revocation of your tobacco retailer license. 

 

It is strongly advised that everyone read the new amendments to the law to determine how it will 

affect your business.  However, if there are any questions, please contact the following 

individuals for assistance: 

 
E. EDWIN ECK 

Deputy Attorney General 

Tobacco Enforcement Program 

PO Box 200151 

Helena, MT 59620-0151 

Phone:  (406) 444-2026 

Fax:  (406) 442-1894 

 

 JIM MCKEON 

 Miscellaneous Tax Unit 

 Department of Revenue 

 PO Box 5805 

 Helena, MT  59604-5805 

 Phone:  (406) 444-6900 

 Toll Free:  (866) 859-2254 

 Fax:  (406) 444-7997 

 

 JENNIFER ULLMAN 

 Program Manager 

 Department of Public Health & Human Services 

 1400 Broadway 

 Helena, MT  59620-2951 

 Phone:  (406) 444-3138 

 Fax:  (406) 444-5900 

 


