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What is compensation?
The Crime Victim Compensation Act of Montana
pays benefits to innocent victims who are injured or
killed as a direct result of a
crime. The Act is adminis-
tered through Crime Vic-
tim Compensation. Please
read this entire document
before completing an ap-
plication for compensation. This document outlines
eligibility requirements and procedures to follow
when applying for compensation. Failure to read
this document could result in long delays in decid-
ing your claim and/or denial of benefits.

Who may file a claim?
A claim can only be filed by:

The victim, or
a person legally authorized to act on behalf of
the victim (parent or guardian), or
dependent(s) of a deceased victim.

Eligibility requirements
The crime must be reported to law enforcement
within 72 hours or show good cause why it
wasn’t reported.
The claimant/victim must fully cooperate
with law enforcement and prosecutors. 
Benefits may be awarded whether or not the
offender was apprehended or prosecuted.
The claimant/victim must file a claim with
Crime Victim Compensation within one 
year of the crime or show good cause why 
it wasn’t filed.
Benefits may be awarded to non-residents 
injured in Montana, or to Montana residents
injured in a state that does not have a 
Crime Victim Compensation program that
compensates non-residents.
Benefits may be reduced or denied to the 
extent the victim contributed to his or her
own injuries or death.

For additional information contact:
Office of Victim Services
PO Box 201410
Helena, MT 59620-1410
Phone: (406) 444-3653 or 1-800-498-6455
Fax: (406) 442-2174
Email: dojovs@mt.gov
Web: www.dojmt.gov
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killed as a direct result of a
crime. The Act is adminis-
tered through Crime Vic-
tim Compensation. Please
read this entire document
before completing an ap-
plication for compensation. This document outlines
eligibility requirements and procedures to follow
when applying for compensation. Failure to read
this document could result in long delays in decid-
ing your claim and/or denial of benefits.

Who may file a claim?
A claim can only be filed by:

The victim, or
a person legally authorized to act on behalf of
the victim (parent or guardian), or
dependent(s) of a deceased victim.

Eligibility requirements
The crime must be reported to law enforcement
within 72 hours or show good cause why it
wasn’t reported.
The claimant/victim must fully cooperate
with law enforcement and prosecutors. 
Benefits may be awarded whether or not the
offender was apprehended or prosecuted.
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The Crime Victim Compensation Act of Montana 
pays benefits to victims who are injured or
killed as a direct result of a
crime. The Act is adminis-
tered through Crime Vic-
tim Compensation. Please
read this entire document
before completing an ap-
plication for compensation. This document outlines
eligibility requirements and procedures to follow
when applying for compensation. Failure to read
this document could result in long delays in decid-
ing your claim and/or denial of benefits.

Who may file a claim?
A claim can only be filed by:

The victim, or
a person legally authorized to act on behalf of
the victim (parent or guardian), or 
dependent(s) of a deceased victim.
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within 72 hours or show good cause why it
wasn’t reported.
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Benefits are not allowed for:
The offender or accomplice,
Non-DUI traffic accidents,
Property loss or repairs, pain and suffering,
Non-medical related expenses (clothing, mo-
tels, legal fees, etc)

The total payments for all benefits may not exceed
$25,000

Primary victim benefits
Medical: Payments are made for reasonable physician
and hospital services, medicine, ambulance, mental
health counseling, or other approved treatment.

Wage loss: Payments are made for lost wages if the
victim was employed at the time the crime occurred
and loses one work week or more. Wage loss is paid
from the date the loss began. Benefits continue until
the victim returns to work or is released by a physi-
cian. Amounts paid for wage loss are made bi weekly.

NOTE:
physically 

Death benefits: The surviving spouse or dependent
may apply for the deceased victim’s death benefits,
medical costs, and funeral expenses. Wage loss ben-
efits may be available. Reasonable burial expenses,
including a marker for the grave, are allowed up to
$3,500.

Secondary victim benefits
Mental health benefits may be available for certain
family members: Counseling benefits can be 
awarded to the parent, spouse, child, brother or 
sister of a victim who is killed as a direct result of 
the crime. Minor children who witness domestic 
violence in the home may be eligible for 
mental health counseling.

Mental health counseling benefits can be
awarded to the parent(s) or sibling(s) of a minor
who is a victim of a sexual crime.

Claims processing
Prior to a decision regarding eligibility, Crime Victim
Compensation must obtain information from law en-
forcement and other agencies to ensure the claim
meets the eligibility requirements set by the Crime
Victim Act of Montana.

A compensation claim must be fully completed,
signed and submitted as soon as possible after the
crime occurs.

Crime Victim Compensation is the payor of last re-
sort: Collateral benefits (listed below) must be used be-
fore payments can be made by Crime Victim
Compensation (CVC). If you have insurance, submit all
crime related medical bills to your insurance carrier be-
fore submitting the bills to CVC. Please mail copies of
the Explanation of Benefits sheets from the insurance
company to CVC when you receive them. If no collat-
eral sources are applicable, please submit copies of all
crime related medical bills to CVC as soon as possible.

Collateral sources include, but are not limited to
the following:

Notice regarding Medicaid
Under state and federal law, Medicaid is a primary
payor to Crime Victim Compensation. The law obligates
physicians, hospitals, and other health care providers
who accept Medicaid patients, to accept Medicaid bene-
fits as payment in full for services rendered. Any out-
standing balance not paid by Medicaid cannot be
charged to the patient or to Crime Victim Compensa-
tion. If you are covered by Medicaid, have applied for
Medicaid, or intend to apply for Medicaid, please advise
Crime Victim Compensation on the application form.

Medicaid
Medicare
Social Security
Sick leave
Medical or health and
accident insurance
Motor vehicle
insurance

Life insurance
Employer wage 
continuation plans
Workers’ 
compensation
Disability insurance
Wage loss insurance
Veterans Administra-
tion benefits (VA)
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Property loss or repairs, pain and suffering,
Non-medical related expenses (clothing, mo-
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$25,000

Primary victim benefits
Medical: Payments are made for reasonable physician
and hospital services, medicine, ambulance, mental
health counseling, or other approved treatment.

Wage loss: Payments are made for lost wages if the
victim was employed at the time the crime occurred
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Death benefits: The surviving spouse or dependent
may apply for the deceased victim’s death benefits,
medical costs, and funeral expenses. Wage loss ben-
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Claims processing
Prior to a decision regarding eligibility, Crime Victim
Compensation must obtain information from law en-
forcement and other agencies to ensure the claim
meets the eligibility requirements set by the Crime
Victim Act of Montana.

A compensation claim must be fully completed,
signed and submitted as soon as possible after the
crime occurs.

Crime Victim Compensation is the payor of last re-
sort: Collateral benefits (listed below) must be used be-
fore payments can be made by Crime Victim
Compensation (CVC). If you have insurance, submit all
crime related medical bills to your insurance carrier be-
fore submitting the bills to CVC. Please mail copies of
the Explanation of Benefits sheets from the insurance
company to CVC when you receive them. If no collat-
eral sources are applicable, please submit copies of all
crime related medical bills to CVC as soon as possible.

Collateral sources include, but are not limited to
the following:

Notice regarding Medicaid
Under state and federal law, Medicaid is a primary
payor to Crime Victim Compensation. The law obligates
physicians, hospitals, and other health care providers
who accept Medicaid patients, to accept Medicaid bene-
fits as payment in full for services rendered. Any out-
standing balance not paid by Medicaid cannot be
charged to the patient or to Crime Victim Compensa-
tion. If you are covered by Medicaid, have applied for
Medicaid, or intend to apply for Medicaid, please advise
Crime Victim Compensation on the application form.
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Social Security
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Benefits are not allowed for:
The offender or accomplice,
Non-DUI traffic accidents,
Property loss or repairs, pain and suffering,
Non-medical related expenses (clothing, mo-
tels, legal fees, etc)

The total payments for all benefits may not exceed
$25,000

Primary victim benefits
Medical: Payments are made for reasonable physician
and hospital services, medicine, ambulance, mental
health counseling, or other approved treatment.

Wage loss: Payments are made for lost wages if the
victim was employed at the time the crime occurred
and loses one work week or more. Wage loss is paid
from the date the loss began. Benefits continue until
the victim returns to work or is released by a physi-
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Death benefits: The surviving spouse or dependent
may apply for the deceased victim’s death benefits,
medical costs, and funeral expenses. Wage loss ben-
efits may be available. Reasonable burial expenses,
including a marker for the grave, are allowed up to
$3,500.

Secondary victim benefits
Mental health benefits may be available for certain
family members: Counseling benefits can be 
awarded to the parent, spouse, child, brother or 
sister of a victim who is killed as a direct result of 
the crime. Minor children who witness domestic 
violence in the home may be eligible for 
mental health counseling.

Mental health counseling benefits can be
awarded to the parent(s) or sibling(s) of a minor
who is a victim of a sexual crime.

53-9-11 Penalty for fraudulently obtaining benefits.
Any person who knowingly makes a false claim or a
false statement or uses any other fraudulent device in
connection with any claim is guilty of theft as provided
in 45-6-301 and upon conviction shall, in addition to
be punished as provided by that section, forfeit and
repay any compensation paid under this part.

To file a claim
Benefits cannot be considered until a claim is filed.
If you have questions or would like to request a
claim form, please contact:

Crime Victim Compensation
P.O. Box 201410
Helena, MT 59620-1410
Phone: 1-800-498-6455 or (406) 444-3653
Email: dojovs@mt.gov

Claim forms may also be obtained from law en-
forcement, prosecuting attorneys, hospitals, or vic-
tim witness/advocate programs.

Restitution
You may be entitled to restitution if you have 
incurred a loss as a result of the crime. Suggestions
for Obtaining Restitution:

Advise law enforcement that you have 
sustained losses as a result of the crime.
Provide documentation of all medical/prop-
erty loss (resulting from crime) to city/county
prosecutors, or Justice of the Peace. Also, ad-
vise if you lost wages as a result of the crime.
If you have applied for compensation benefits,
advise the city/county prosecutor or Justice of
the Peace that benefits may be paid by the fund.
See allowable benefits listed in this pamphlet.

If restitution is paid to the victim, the victim is
required to reimburse Crime Victim Compensation
for any benefits that have been paid on their behalf,
as described under Administrative Rule 23.15.307(3).

Claims processing
Prior to a decision regarding eligibility, Crime Victim
Compensation must obtain information from law en-
forcement and other agencies to ensure the claim
meets the eligibility requirements set by the Crime
Victim Act of Montana.

A compensation claim must be fully completed,
signed and submitted as soon as possible after the
crime occurs.

Crime Victim Compensation is the payor of last re-
sort: Collateral benefits (listed below) must be used be-
fore payments can be made by Crime Victim
Compensation (CVC). If you have insurance, submit all
crime related medical bills to your insurance carrier be-
fore submitting the bills to CVC. Please mail copies of
the Explanation of Benefits sheets from the insurance
company to CVC when you receive them. If no collat-
eral sources are applicable, please submit copies of all
crime related medical bills to CVC as soon as possible.

Collateral sources include, but are not limited to
the following:

Notice regarding Medicaid
Under state and federal law, Medicaid is a primary
payor to Crime Victim Compensation. The law obligates
physicians, hospitals, and other health care providers
who accept Medicaid patients, to accept Medicaid bene-
fits as payment in full for services rendered. Any out-
standing balance not paid by Medicaid cannot be
charged to the patient or to Crime Victim Compensa-
tion. If you are covered by Medicaid, have applied for
Medicaid, or intend to apply for Medicaid, please advise
Crime Victim Compensation on the application form.

Medicaid
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Social Security
Sick leave
Medical or health and
accident insurance
Motor vehicle
insurance

Life insurance
Employer wage 
continuation plans
Workers’ 
compensation
Disability insurance
Wage loss insurance
Veterans Administra-
tion benefits (VA)
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Social Security
Sick leave
Medical or health and
accident insurance
Motor vehicle
insurance

Life insurance
Employer wage
continuation plans
Workers’ 
compensation
Disability insurance
Wage loss insurance
Veterans Administra-
tion benefits (VA)
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tels, legal fees, etc)

The total payments for all benefits may not exceed
$25,000

Primary victim benefits
Medical: Payments are made for reasonable physician
and hospital services, medicine, ambulance, mental
health counseling, or other approved treatment.

Wage loss: Payments are made for lost wages if the
victim was employed at the time the crime occurred
and loses one work week or more. Wage loss is paid
from the date the loss began. Benefits continue until
the victim returns to work or is released by a physi-
cian. Amounts paid for wage loss are made bi weekly.

NOTE:
physically 

Death benefits: The surviving spouse or dependent
may apply for the deceased victim’s death benefits,
medical costs, and funeral expenses. Wage loss ben-
efits may be available. Reasonable burial expenses,
including a marker for the grave, are allowed up to
$3,500.

Secondary victim benefits
Mental health benefits may be available for certain
family members: Counseling benefits can be 
awarded to the parent, spouse, child, brother or 
sister of a victim who is killed as a direct result of 
the crime. Minor children who witness domestic 
violence in the home may be eligible for 
mental health counseling.

Mental health counseling benefits can be
awarded to the parent(s) or sibling(s) of a minor
who is a victim of a sexual crime.

53-9-11 Penalty for fraudulently obtaining benefits.
Any person who knowingly makes a false claim or a
false statement or uses any other fraudulent device in
connection with any claim is guilty of theft as provided
in 45-6-301 and upon conviction shall, in addition to
be punished as provided by that section, forfeit and
repay any compensation paid under this part.

To file a claim
Benefits cannot be considered until a claim is filed.
If you have questions or would like to request a
claim form, please contact:

Crime Victim Compensation
P.O. Box 201410
Helena, MT 59620-1410
Phone: 1-800-498-6455 or (406) 444-3653
Email: dojovs@mt.gov

Claim forms may also be obtained from law en-
forcement, prosecuting attorneys, hospitals, or vic-
tim witness/advocate programs.

Restitution
You may be entitled to restitution if you have 
incurred a loss as a result of the crime. Suggestions
for Obtaining Restitution:

Advise law enforcement that you have 
sustained losses as a result of the crime.
Provide documentation of all medical/prop-
erty loss (resulting from crime) to city/county
prosecutors, or Justice of the Peace. Also, ad-
vise if you lost wages as a result of the crime.
If you have applied for compensation benefits,
advise the city/county prosecutor or Justice of
the Peace that benefits may be paid by the fund.
See allowable benefits listed in this pamphlet.

If restitution is paid to the victim, the victim is
required to reimburse Crime Victim Compensation
for any benefits that have been paid on their behalf,
as described under Administrative Rule 23.15.307(3).

Medicaid
Medicare
Social Security
Sick leave
Medical or health and
accident insurance
Motor vehicle 
insurance

Life insurance
Employer wage 
continuation plans
Workers’ 
compensation
Disability insurance
Wage loss insurance
Veterans Administra-
tion benefits (VA)

secondary

Benefits are not allowed for:
The offender or accomplice,
Non-DUI traffic accidents,
Property loss or repairs, pain and suffering,
Non-medical related expenses (clothing, mo-
tels, legal fees, etc)

The total payments for all benefits may not exceed
$25,000

Primary victim benefits
Medical: Payments are made for reasonable physician
and hospital services, medicine, ambulance, mental
health counseling, or other approved treatment.

Wage loss:  Payments are made for lost wages if the
victim was employed at the time the crime occurred
and loses one work week or more. Wage loss is paid
from the date the loss began. Benefits continue until
the victim returns to work or is released by a physi-
cian. Amounts paid for wage loss are made bi weekly.

NOTE:  
physically 

Death benefits:  The surviving spouse or dependent
may apply for the deceased victim’s death benefits,
medical costs, and funeral expenses. Wage loss ben-
efits may be available. Reasonable burial expenses,
including a marker for the grave, are allowed up to
$10,000.        

Secondary victim benefits
Mental health benefits may be available for certain
family members: Counseling benefits can be 
awarded to the parent, spouse, child, brother or 
sister of a victim who is killed as a direct result of 
the crime. Minor children who witness domestic 
violence in the home may be eligible for 
mental health counseling.

Mental health counseling benefits can be
awarded to the parent(s) or sibling(s) of a minor
who is a victim of a sexual crime.

53-9-11 Penalty for fraudulently obtaining benefits.
Any person who knowingly makes a false claim or a
false statement or uses any other fraudulent device in
connection with any claim is guilty of theft as provided
in 45-6-301 and upon conviction shall, in addition to
be punished as provided by that section, forfeit and
repay any compensation paid under this part.

To file a claim
Benefits cannot be considered until a claim is filed.
If you have questions or would like to request a
claim form, please contact:

Crime Victim Compensation 
P.O. Box 201410
Helena, MT 59620-1410
Phone: 1-800-498-6455 or (406) 444-3653
Email: dojovs@mt.gov

Claim forms may also be obtained from law en-
forcement, prosecuting attorneys, hospitals, or vic-
tim witness/advocate programs.

Restitution
You may be entitled to restitution if you have 
incurred a loss as a result of the crime. Suggestions
for Obtaining Restitution:

Advise law enforcement that you have 
sustained losses as a result of the crime.
Provide documentation of all medical/prop-
erty loss (resulting from crime) to city/county
prosecutors, or Justice of the Peace. Also, ad-
vise if you lost wages as a result of the crime.
If you have applied for compensation benefits,
advise the city/county prosecutor or Justice of
the Peace that benefits may be paid by the fund.
See allowable benefits listed in this pamphlet.

If restitution is paid to the victim, the victim is 
required to reimburse Crime Victim Compensation
for any benefits that have been paid on their behalf,
as described under Administrative Rule 23.15.307(3).

Claims processing
Prior to a decision regarding eligibility, Crime Victim
Compensation must obtain information from law en-
forcement and other agencies to ensure the claim
meets the eligibility requirements set by the Crime
Victim Act of Montana.

A compensation claim must be fully completed,
signed and submitted as soon as possible after the
crime occurs.

Crime Victim Compensation is the payor of last re-
sort: Collateral benefits (listed below) must be used be-
fore payments can be made by Crime Victim
Compensation (CVC). If you have insurance, submit all
crime related medical bills to your insurance carrier be-
fore submitting the bills to CVC. Please mail copies of
the Explanation of Benefits sheets from the insurance
company to CVC when you receive them. If no collat-
eral sources are applicable, please submit copies of all
crime related medical bills to CVC as soon as possible.

Collateral sources include, but are not limited to
the following:

Notice regarding Medicaid
Under state and federal law, Medicaid is a primary
payor to Crime Victim Compensation. The law obligates
physicians, hospitals, and other health care providers
who accept Medicaid patients, to accept Medicaid bene-
fits as payment in full for services rendered. Any out-
standing balance not paid by Medicaid cannot be
charged to the patient or to Crime Victim Compensa-
tion. If you are covered by Medicaid, have applied for
Medicaid, or intend to apply for Medicaid, please advise
Crime Victim Compensation on the application form.

Medicaid
Medicare
Social Security
Sick leave
Medical or health and
accident insurance
Motor vehicle
insurance

Life insurance
Employer wage
continuation plans
Workers’ 
compensation
Disability insurance
Wage loss insurance
Veterans Administra-
tion benefits (VA)

53-9-11 Penalty for fraudulently obtaining benefits.
Any person who knowingly makes a false claim or a
false statement or uses any other fraudulent device in
connection with any claim is guilty of theft as provided
in 45-6-301 and upon conviction shall, in addition to
be punished as provided by that section, forfeit and
repay any compensation paid under this part.

To file a claim
Benefits cannot be considered until a claim is filed.
If you have questions or would like to request a
claim form, please contact:

Crime Victim Compensation
P.O. Box 201410
Helena, MT 59620-1410
Phone: 1-800-498-6455 or (406) 444-3653
Email: dojovs@mt.gov

Claim forms may also be obtained from law en-
forcement, prosecuting attorneys, hospitals, or vic-
tim witness/advocate programs.

Restitution
You may be entitled to restitution if you have 
incurred a loss as a result of the crime. Suggestions
for Obtaining Restitution:

Advise law enforcement that you have 
sustained losses as a result of the crime.
Provide documentation of all medical/prop-
erty loss (resulting from crime) to city/county
prosecutors, or Justice of the Peace. Also, ad-
vise if you lost wages as a result of the crime.
If you have applied for compensation benefits,
advise the city/county prosecutor or Justice of
the Peace that benefits may be paid by the fund.
See allowable benefits listed in this pamphlet.

If restitution is paid to the victim, the victim is
required to reimburse Crime Victim Compensation
for any benefits that have been paid on their behalf,
as described under Administrative Rule 23.15.307(3).
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