DEPARTMENT OF JUSTICE STATE OF MONTANA

Austin Knudsen Attorney General



PO Box 201417 2225 Eleventh Avenue Helena, MT 59620-1417 (406) 444-3874 FAX: (406) 444-2759

Minutes Log Montana Sexual Assault Response Network Committee February 21, 2025

Please note: This document is a minutes log. It provides annotation of the time elapsed between the beginning of the meeting and the time at which the item was presented or discussed, a motion was made, or a vote was taken. The narrative presented is provided only as a guide to the audio or video recording of the meeting. The official discussion, motion, or vote is available on the audio or video archive of this meeting.

Members Present: Eldena Bear Don't Walk Heather Black Jamie Bray-Tanner Whitney Brothers Brenda George Cara Guderian Anthony Honeycutt Mark Horn Brett Irigoin Jordan Kilby Selene Koepke **Emily Mangas**

Members Absent:

Christina Powell Kodi Tall Bull **Bret Taylor** Ben Uhlich

Susan Parker

DOJ Staff Present:

Kayla Bragg, Office of Victim Services Director Hope Stockwell, Sexual Assault Response Network Program Coordinator

DEPARTMENT OF JUSTICE STATE OF MONTANA

Austin Knudsen Attorney General



PO Box 201417 2225 Eleventh Avenue Helena, MT 59620-1417 (406) 444-3874 FAX: (406) 444-2759

Friday, February 21, 2025

Location: Zoom

Audio/video archive of meeting: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=hoWNtNLbICM

00:00:00 Welcome - Hope Stockwell, DOJ Sexual Assault Response Network Coordinator

Roll call/updates from committee members

00:03:03	Ms. Bear Don't Walk
00:04:17	Ms. George
00:05:32	Mr. Irigoin
00:06:35	Det. Guderian
00:07:15	Ms. Bray-Tanner
00:09:10	Capt. Honeycutt
00:10:02	Mr. Horn
00:11:11	Ms. Mangas
00:11:53	Ms. Black
00:12:49	Ms. Powell
00:13:53	Mr. Uhlich
00:15:08	Ms. Brothers
00:16:44	Ms. Koepke

00:18:01 Ms. Stockwell – SARN Program updates

Learning about committee members' roles in sexual assault response: Sexual Assault Kit Processing at the State Crime Lab

Presenters: Jamie Bray-Tanner, Biology Section Supervisor

Lacey VanGrinsven, Forensic Scientist, Serology/DNA Section

00:25:32	Ms. Bray-Tanner
00:26:22	Ms. VanGrinsven
00:26:46	Ms. Bray-Tanner
00:27:28	Ms. VanGrinsven – What happens to kits received at the Crime Lab?
00:53:38	Ms. Bray-Tanner
00:54:23	Ms. VanGrinsven
00:57:59	Ms. Bray-Tanner
00:58:08	Ms. VanGrinsven
00:59:11	Ms. Bray-Tanner – What is DNA?
01:14:16	Ms. Bray-Tanner – YSTR analysis
01:17:29	Ms. Bray-Tanner – What is CODIS?
01:25:52	Ms. VanGrinsven – Challenges and complications with kit analysis

DEPARTMENT OF JUSTICE STATE OF MONTANA

Austin Knudsen Attorney General



PO Box 201417 2225 Eleventh Avenue Helena, MT 59620-1417 (406) 444-3874 FAX: (406) 444-2759

01:31:19	Ms. Bray-Tanner – Timelines for analysis
01:37:10	Ms. VanGrinsven – Analyzing 'cold cases'
01:37:25	Ms. Bray-Tanner - Forensic genetic genealogy
01:38:38	Break
01:50:16	Resumed
Committee ref	lection, questions, and discussion on the Crime Lab presentation
01:50:38	Ms. Brothers
01:50:59	Ms. VanGrinsven
01:51:08	Ms. Brothers
01:51:19	Ms. VanGrinsven
01:51:27	Ms. Brothers
01:51:42	Ms. VanGrinsven
01:52:01	Ms. Brothers
01:52:26	Ms. VanGrinsven
01:52:50	Capt. Honeycutt
01:53:49	Ms. Bray-Tanner
01:55:07	Ms. Stockwell
01:56:44	Ms. Bray-Tanner
01:57:07	Mr. Irigoin
01:57:35	Ms. Stockwell
Forensic Rape	Examination Payment Program (FREPP)
01:59:02	Ms. Stockwell – Introduction – Review of recent U.S. GAO report on how states provide
for free access	to sexual assault exams
02:10:00	Ms. Stockwell – How Montana bills for sexual assault forensic exams
02:13:28	Ms. Stockwell – How other states pay for sexual assault forensic exams
02:24:45	Ms. Brothers – Non-acute exams are not eligible for FREPP reimbursement
02:25:15	Ms. Stockwell
02:25:32	Ms. Powell
02:26:31	Ms. George – How pediatric exams are paid for
02:27:20	Ms. Stockwell
02:30:17	Ms. George
02:31:48	Ms. Stockwell – U.S. GAO report conclusions
	26.36

Ms. Stockwell – What related information would the committee like to review at a future

Montana Sexual Assault Response Network Committee February 21, 2025

Ms. Mangas

Ms. Brothers

Ms. Mangas Ms. Stockwell

02:37:35

02:37:58

02:41:00

02:41:51

02:42:34

meeting on this topic?

DEPARTMENT OF JUSTICE STATE OF MONTANA

Austin Knudsen Attorney General



PO Box 201417 2225 Eleventh Avenue Helena, MT 59620-1417 (406) 444-3874 FAX: (406) 444-2759

02:43:03	Ms. Mangas
02:43:28	Capt. Honeycutt
02:44:38	Ms. Koepke
02:45:33	Ms. Bragg
02:46:10	Ms. Stockwell
02:46:27	Ms. Bragg
02:47:00	Ms. Black
02:49:19	Ms. Stockwell
02:49:49	Ms. Brothers
02:51:28	Ms. George
02:52:54	Ms. Stockwell
02:54:41	Mr. Uhlich

Public Comment on any matter within the committee's jurisdiction

02:56:45	Rachael Goodman-Williams, Wichita State University
02:59:39	Mary Pat Hansen, Nurse Practitioner, First Step, Missoula
03:04:07	Annalise Wilson, SANE Coordinator, Logan Health – Kalispell

Continued committee reflection, questions, and discussion on the FREPP presentation

03:06:31	Ms. Tall Bull – Requesting information about sexual assault nurse examiner training	
03:06:55	Ms. Stockwell	

03:07:38 Ms. Mangas – Need to simplify billing processes

03:09:27 Ms. Brothers – Would like to see exams eligible for payment regardless of where assault

happened

03:10:31 Ms. Black – Need to standardize billing. Interest in non-beneficiary patients being able to receive forensic care at IHS facilities.

03:11:19 Ms. George – Would like additional information on how other states are paying for exams

03:12:54 Ms. Stockwell

03:14:47 Mr. Uhlich – Legislation regarding nursing ratios and how that would impact forensic

care

03:15:56 Ms. Stockwell Mr. Uhlich 03:16:26

03:17:10 Ms. Black Mr. Uhlich 03:17:36

03:18:03 Ms. Black

03:18:41 Ms. Stockwell

General committee reflections on today's presentations and discussion

03:19:12	Ms. Brothers
03:20:22	Ms. Koepke
03:21:15	Mr. Uhlich

DEPARTMENT OF JUSTICE STATE OF MONTANA

Austin Knudsen Attorney General



PO Box 201417 2225 Eleventh Avenue Helena, MT 59620-1417 (406) 444-3874 FAX: (406) 444-2759

03:22:48 03:24:44 03:25:49 03:27:55 03:28:59	Ms. Tall Bull Det. Guderian Capt. Honeycutt Ms. Bray-Tanner Ms. Mangas
03:29:50 03:31:02 03:33:23 03:34:13 03:35:07 03:35:46	Ms. Black Ms. Powell Ms. George Ms. Bear Don't Walk Mr. Irigoin Ms. Stockwell
03:38:09	Adjourned