Austin Knudsen Attorney General



PO Box 201417 2225 Eleventh Avenue Helena, MT 59620-1417 (406) 444-3874 FAX: (406) 444-2759

Minutes Log Montana Sexual Assault Response Network Committee March 21, 2025

Please note: This document is a minutes log. It provides annotation of the time elapsed between the beginning of the meeting and the time at which the item was presented or discussed, a motion was made, or a vote was taken. The narrative presented is provided only as a guide to the audio or video recording of the meeting. The official discussion, motion, or vote is available on the audio or video archive of this meeting.

Members Present:

Jamie Bray-Tanner Whitney Brothers Brenda George Mark Horn Brett Irigoin Selene Koepke Emily Mangas Christina Powell Bret Taylor Ben Uhlich

Members Absent:

Eldena Bear Don't Walk Heather Black Cara Guderian Anthony Honeycutt Jordan Kilby Susan Parker Kodi Tall Bull

DOJ Staff Present:

Kayla Bragg, Office of Victim Services Director Hope Stockwell, Sexual Assault Response Network Program Coordinator Derek Mahlum, Investigations Bureau Chief

Austin Knudsen Attorney General



PO Box 201417 2225 Eleventh Avenue Helena, MT 59620-1417 (406) 444-3874 FAX: (406) 444-2759

Friday, March 21, 2025

Location: Zoom

Audio/video archive of meeting: https://youtu.be/VrwRnmOkCJI?si=etANIUBiA_FFRnBo

- 00:00:00 Welcome Hope Stockwell, DOJ Sexual Assault Response Network Coordinator
- 00:02:48 Factors in Sexual Assault Nurse Examiner (SANE) program success Presenter: Sarah Wangerin, MSN, RN
- 00:15:40 Committee reflection, questions, and discussion

00:13:40	Committee refle
00:16:07	Ms. Brothers
00:16:14	Ms. Wangerin
00:16:31	Ms. Stockwell
00:16:42	Ms. Bragg
00:16:52	Ms. Wangerin
00:18:23	Ms. Stockwell
00:18:38	Ms. Wangerin
00:19:14	Ms. Powell
00:19:25	Ms. Wangerin
00:20:32	Ms. Stockwell
00:20:57	Ms. Wangerin
00:23:37	Ms. Powell
00:23:52	Ms. Wangerin
00:24:39	Ms. George
00:25:01	Ms. Wangerin
00:26:00	Mr. Uhlich
00:26:36	Ms. Wangerin
00:30:10	Ms. Stockwell
00:30:36	Ms. Wangerin
00:32:25	Ms. George
00:32:47	Ms. Wangerin
00:33:06	Ms. Bragg
00:33:55	Ms. Wangerin
00:36:53	Mr. Uhlich
00:38:07	Ms. Wangerin
00:38:59	Ms. Brothers
00:39:14	Ms. Wangerin

Upcoming MSU HRSA Grant Team SANE training schedule and SARN Program updates00:39:34Ms. Stockwell00:41:18Ms. Wangerin

Austin Knudsen Attorney General



PO Box 201417 2225 Eleventh Avenue Helena, MT 59620-1417 (406) 444-3874 FAX: (406) 444-2759

00:41:52 Ms. Stockwell

00:43:27 Mr. Mahlum – introduction

Sexual assault forensic exam payments

	Sexual assault 1	torensie exam payments
	00:45:04	Ms. Stockwell – Billing structure for exams in Montana
	00:47:08	Ms. Stockwell – FREPP statutes and administrative rules
	00:51:50	Ms. Brothers
	00:52:13	Ms. Stockwell
	00:56:17	Ms. Stockwell – Overview of Senate Bill No. 491
	00:58:45	Ms. Mangas
	00:59:14	Ms. Stockwell
	01:00:23	Ms. Brothers
	01:01:27	Ms. Stockwell
	01:01:55	Ms. Brothers
	01:02:48	Ms. Stockwell
	01:03:19	Ms. Koepke
	01:03:35	Ms. Stockwell
	01:04:02	Ms. Koepke
	01:04:31	Ms. Bragg
	01:04:44	Ms. Stockwell – Montana Administrative Procedures Act
	01:06:09	Ms. Stockwell – Data provided for Senate Bill No. 491
	01:08:43	Ms. Brothers
	01:10:58	Ms. Stockwell – Follow-ups to February SARN Committee discussion of GAO report on
how forensic exams are paid by state		
	01:12:26	Ms. George
	01:12:30	Ms. Koepke
	01:12:59	Ms. George
	01:13:12	Ms. Stockwell
	01:22:38	Mr. Irigoin
	01:23:17	Ms. Stockwell
	01:26:44	Ms. Mangas
	01:27:20	Ms. Stockwell
	01:28:30	Ms. Brothers
	01:29:50	Mr. Irigoin
	01:30:06	Ms. Brothers
	01:32:01	Ms. Mangas
	01:32:56	Mr. Mahlum
	01:33:54	Ms. Brothers
	01:35:00	Ms. Stockwell
	01:36:15	Ms. Powell

Montana Sexual Assault Response Network Committee March 21, 2025

Austin Knudsen Attorney General



PO Box 201417 2225 Eleventh Avenue Helena, MT 59620-1417 (406) 444-3874 FAX: (406) 444-2759

- 01:37:08 Ms. Stockwell
- 01:37:54 Ms. Powell 01:38:38 Ms. Mangas
- 01:39:51 Ms. Brothers
- 01:41:25 Ms. Mangas
- 01:41:40 Ms. Bragg
- 01:41:50 Ms. Mangas
- 01:42:14 Ms. Stockwell

01:44:20 Public Comment on any matter within the committee's jurisdiction – None

Final committee reflection, questions, and discussion

- Ms. Stockwell 01:45:12 01:45:59 Ms. Brothers 01:46:24 Ms. Mangas Mr. Irigoin 01:46:40 01:46:56 Mr. Uhlich Ms. Bray-Tanner 01:47:08 Ms. Stockwell 01:47:33 01:49:20 Ms. Bray-Tanner Mr. Horn 01:50:14 01:50:37 Mr. Uhlich Mr. Irigoin 01:51:40 Ms. George 01:52:48 Ms. Powell 01:54:46 Ms. Koepke 01:58:09 01:59:40 Ms. Brothers 02:02:58 Ms. Mangas
- 02:04:38 Adjourned