

## New Transit Permit and Plate Application Instructions

MVD Use Only

**Vehicle Services Bureau** 

P.O. Box 201431, 302 N Roberts, Helena, MT 59620-1431 Phone (406) 444-3661 Fax (406) 444-0116 ● dojdealerinfo@mt.gov

Transit permits and plates are issued for the transportation of new motor vehicles, new trailers, or new or used mobile homes from a point outside of Montana and over the highways of this state. Fees include 3% administration fee per MCA 61-3-111.

We advise that you keep this information letter for your files, as it outlines the regulations and procedures for complying with the laws governing the business.

Laws and regulations for Montana transit dealers can be found at the Montana Code Annotated (MCA) website: <a href="http://data.opi.mt.gov/bills/mca\_toc/61\_4\_3.htm">http://data.opi.mt.gov/bills/mca\_toc/61\_4\_3.htm</a>

• License requirements: MCA 61-4-301

Trip fee and quarterly reports: MCA 61-4-302

Display of plates: MCA 61-4-307

• Single movement permit: MCA 61-4-310

Check off items below to ensure submission of a completed report. Do not submit this page (the instruction page) with the application. It is for your records.

Complete and sign the Transit Application form (MV82).

Remit \$103 license fee.

If requesting plates, remit \$20.60 for each set of plates ordered. Only 5 sets of plates may be applied for unless the permit holder can demonstrate to the satisfaction of the department that additional sets are needed. Plates are sent to your business address and should be received approximately three weeks after the license is approved.

Return the application with the necessary fees.

Upon receipt of this paperwork, the department will process your application for licensure. It takes approximately three weeks for approval of a license.

Refer to the renewal schedule to determine the exact dates when the license will expire.

Transit licenses will not be issued at the Vehicle Services Bureau's counter on a same-

day basis.



## **Application for Transit Permit and Plates**

Office Use Only

Vehicle Services Bureau

(Fees include 3% administration fee per MCA 61-3-111)

P.O. Box 201431, 302 N Roberts, Helena, MT 59620-1431 Phone (406) 444-3661 Fax (406) 444-0116 • dojdealerinfo@mt.gov

Number:			
		Initial Fee:	\$10 <b>3</b> .00
	_ sets of plate	s @ \$20. <b>6</b> 0 per set:	
		TOTAL:	
ı (print clearly)			
hereby make application for registration new or used mobile homes for the year 2	•	of new vehicles, traile	ers, or
This business will be conducted under th	e name of:		
Business Name			
Business Street Address	City	State	Zip Code
Mailing Address (P.O. Box or Street Address)	City	State	Zip Code
Phone Number Federal Tax ID c	or Corporate Tax ID	No. E-Mail Address	
Indicate with an X the vehic	cle type(s) you	will be transporting	g:
New Motor Vehicles (to include cars, truck	cs, rugged terrain [s	port utility], vans, and bu	ses)
New Trailers			
New or Used Mobile Homes			
Applicant agrees to comply with the provengulations promulgated thereunder apparent manufacturers in effect on the date	licable to motor	vehicle dealers, distri	
Under penalty of law (MCA 45-7-203), I information contained on this form are to information, and belief; I am the person business entity or trust, I have full authorized.	rue and correct t named on this fo	o the best of my knov	•
Applicant's signature	Applicant's	printed name	
Title		 Date	