
Vehicle Services Bureau 

Application to Display 
Reproduction License 

Plates 
Fees include 3% administration fee per MCA 61-3-111 
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Reproduction license plates cannot be validated if they duplicate a license plate number currently in use. 
A Montana Highway Patrol trooper must complete this section. 

Plate Number Plate Year of Issuance Plate Colors Plate Size 

Tab Number Tab Year of Issuance Tab Colors Use separate paper 
for remarks. 

All original Montana license plates must be displayed in sets. (Exception: A vehicle manufactured in 1948, 1949, or 
1950 may display a single plate.) Have both plates been inspected?   Yes   No 
I certify that I have physically inspected these license plates and determined that they are legible, original Montana 
license plates and will be visible at night. *The year of the plate must match the year of the vehicle*

Signature of MHP Trooper Printed Name of MHP Trooper Badge Number Date 

Applicant must complete this section (MCA 61-3-411, 61-3-412, and 61-3-413). 
 Yes  No If the vehicle was manufactured in 1948, 1949, or 1950, is this a request to display a single plate? 

Will this vehicle be used for general transportation? 
 Yes: Submit all paperwork to your county treasurer’s office for permanent registration. 
 No:  Submit all paperwork, plus any applicable fees listed below, to the Vehicle Services Bureau. 

Year Make/Manufacturer Model Body Style/Length 

Vehicle/Vessel Identification Number Title Number Color 

Applicant (print name) 

Street Address City State Zip Code 

Under penalty of law (MCA 45-7-203), I certify that the statements made and information contained on this form are 
true and correct to the best of my knowledge, information, and belief; I am the person named on this form; and, if 
signing for a business entity or trust, I have full authority to do so. 

Applicant Signature (this is my legal signature) Date 

Printed Name of Applicant DL/FEIN/Tribal ID/Corp ID* 

*DL-Driver License Number; FEIN-Federal Employer Identification Number; Tribal ID-Tribal ID card; Corp. ID-Corporate Identification Number
Montana county and state authorities reserve the right to reject any form that has been altered. 

MV96 (1/20) This form is available in alternate formats for people with disabilities.

P.O. Box 201431, 302 N Roberts, Helena, MT 59620-1431    Phone (406) 444-3661   Fax (406) 444-0116       mvdtitleinfo@mt.gov 

Email Address Phone Number 

Fees include 3% administration fee per MCA 61-3-111 - Make checks payable to "State of Montana." 
Plates Number 
Assignment 

Title 

MVD Assigned - 
$50.00

Transfer Existing - 
$50.00

Personalized - 
$75.00 (also submit 
MV96B)

•

•

If transferring ownership of a Montana
title, submit the title properly signed off
for transfer, along with all ownership
transfer documents and additional fee of
$12.00 ($10.00 for trailers, motorcycles
or snowmobiles) must be submitted.

If the title is from another state, submit
the out-of-state title, form MV1, along
with all ownership transfer documents
and additional fee of $12.00 ($10.00 for
trailers, motorcycles or snowmobiles)
must be submitted.

Fees 

 ________  

    

Total:

 ________ Subtotal:
3% Admin Fee: 
(3% x Subtotal)

 ________ 

_________

State Parks SupportTemporary Permit 

If a temporary 
registration permit 
has been issued, 
an additional fee of 
$19.50 must be 
submitted.

 ________ 

The State Parks 
Support fee is
$9.00. You may 
opt-out of this 
optional fee. The 
fee supports state 
parks across 
Montana as well 
as fishing access 
sites and heritage 
sites.
Learn more here

• •

    

To Opt-Out change to $0.00

Under penalty of law (MCA 45-7-203), I certify that the statements made and information contained on this form are 
true and correct to the best of my knowledge, information, and belief; I am the person named on this form; and, if 
signing for a business entity or trust, I have full authority to do so. 

• Initial Application

• Plates:

• Title:

• Inspection:

• Temporary Permit:     

• State Parks Support:         

 ________  

         $5.00

 _______  

 $20.00

 ________  

Check applicable box:

http://leg.mt.gov/bills/mca/title_0610/chapter_0030/part_0010/section_0110/0610-0030-0010-0110.html
mailto:mvdtitleinfo@mt.gov
http://stateparks.mt.gov/about-us/parksForSix.html
http://leg.mt.gov/bills/mca/title_0610/chapter_0030/part_0010/section_0110/0610-0030-0010-0110.html
CJB004
Cross-Out
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