### Montana Department of Justice Forensic Rape Examination Payment Program Frequently Asked Questions

### 1. What is a forensic rape examination?

A "forensic rape examination" is an examination provided to a sexual assault victim by a physician or medical personnel trained to gather evidence of a sexual assault in a manner suitable for use in a court of law.

### 2. What is the Forensic Rape Examination Payment Program (FREPP)?

FREPP provides direct payment to qualified healthcare providers for forensic rape examinations for victims who have an exam within 5 days of the crime and who choose NOT to report the crime immediately to law enforcement. Direct reimbursement from FREPP to providers of forensic examination services ensures that a sexual assault survivor will not pay for her/his own forensic examination. FREPP pays the cost of a sexual assault examination to a **maximum of \$600**.

## 3. What services are included in FREPP's definition of a "forensic rape examination"?

Covered costs include:

- Complete and customary sexual assault examination
- Emergency room/facility charge
- Physician/nurse examiner charge
- STD and pregnancy prophylaxis
- Blood and urine specimens for toxicology testing
- Supplies
- Laboratory testing
- Pharmaceuticals
- Mailing charges

### 4. Must a victim have a forensic rape examination performed immediately?

A forensic exam must be performed within 5 days of the assault in order to obtain essential evidence.

## 5. Can a healthcare provider bill the victim for the remaining balance after FREPP pays?

No. A healthcare provider must accept FREPP's reimbursement rate as payment in full for covered services. The purpose of FREPP is to ensure that the victim not be held responsible for paying the cost of the forensic examination. The healthcare provider shall not submit any remaining balance after reimbursement by FREPP to the victim or commence civil actions against the victim to recover any balance due.

### 6. Can a healthcare provider bill the victim for services related to physical injuries?

Yes. If the victim suffered physical injuries due to the crime, the provider may bill the victim for that portion of the services.

# 7. Does a victim have to use his/her private healthcare insurance to pay for the forensic rape examination?

No. The patient may decline to use his/her private insurance or any other payment sources including Medicaid or Medicare.

# 8. If a victim used his/her insurance to pay for the cost of the exam, but insurance did not cover 100% of the bill, can the healthcare provider charge FREPP for the remaining balance?

Yes. Once private health care insurance is assigned, the hospital or healthcare provider may bill FREPP for any balance due. The balance due may not exceed the \$600 maximum allowed.

### 9. What types of healthcare providers are covered by FREPP?

- Any State of Montana accredited hospital
- A licensed provider in the State of Montana
- A Sexual Assault Nurse Examiner (SANE) program

# 10. If a private physician conducted a forensic rape examination in his/her office and did not use a forensic rape examination kit, can the physician still be reimbursed?

No. A forensic rape examination kit must be used.

## 11. Is it necessary to file a law enforcement report to qualify for coverage through FREPP?

No. FREPP was created for sexual assault victims who choose not to report the crime to law enforcement at the time of the sexual assault examination.

# 12. Will a victim be required to pursue prosecution in order to secure payment for the forensic rape examination?

No. FREPP does not require a sexual assault victim to pursue prosecution.

## 13. Once a forensic rape examination has been completed, what must be done with the evidence collected?

Forensic rape examination kits and any other evidence collected must be put into a box and mailed to FREPP. For tracking purposes, we recommend using UPS or Certified Mail as the delivery method. Kits do not need to be sent "on ice" and must not be sent on a Friday. Mail kits to:

FREPP 555 Fuller Avenue Helena, MT 59601

### 14. How does a healthcare provider apply for reimbursement?

FREPP Claim Forms are available from the Office of Victim Services website at <a href="https://dojmt.gov/victims/forensic-rape-examination-payment-program/">https://dojmt.gov/victims/forensic-rape-examination-payment-program/</a>

Healthcare providers must submit the claim form no later than 90 days from the date of the forensic examination. The claim form must accompany an itemized bill including a HCFA form with CPT codes and notes. This information must be mailed to:

FREPP 555 Fuller Avenue Helena, MT 59601

### 15. Who can provide more information about FREPP?

You may contact FREPP by calling our office at 1-406-444-3653. You may also visit our website at <u>https://dojmt.gov/victims/forensic-rape-examination-payment-program/</u>

Revised 11/2012 Office of Victim Services