
 Montana state authorities reserve the right to reject any form that has been altered.  
MV69 (10/12) This form is available in alternate formats for people with disabilities. 

 

 
Title and Registration Bureau 

 

New Transit Permit and 

Plate Application 
Checklist M

V
D

 U
s
e
 O

n
ly

 

 

1003 Buckskin Drive, Deer Lodge, MT 59722-2375      Phone (406) 444-3661   Fax (406) 846-6039      mvdtitleinfo@mt.gov 

 
Transit permits and plates are issued for the transportation of new motor vehicles, new 

trailers, or new or used mobile homes from a point outside of Montana and over the 
highways of this state. 

 
We advise that you keep this information letter for your files, as it outlines the 

regulations and procedures for complying with the laws governing the business. 
 

Laws and regulations for Montana transit dealers can be found at the Montana Code 
Annotated (MCA) website: http://data.opi.mt.gov/bills/mca_toc/61_4_3.htm 

 

● License requirements: MCA 61-4-301 
● Trip fee and quarterly reports: MCA 61-4-302 

● Display of plates: MCA 61-4-307 
● Single movement permit: MCA 61-4-310 

 
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------- 

Check off the items below before submitting your paperwork to the Title and 
Registration Bureau. 

 
 Complete and sign the Transit Application form (MV82). 

 
 Remit $100 license fee. 

 
 If requesting plates, remit $20 for each set of plates ordered. Only 5 sets of plates 

may be applied for unless the permit holder can demonstrate to the satisfaction of 

the department that additional sets are needed. Plates are sent to your business 
address and should be received approximately three weeks after the license is 

approved. 
 

 Return the application with the necessary fees.  
 

Upon receipt of this paperwork, the department will process your application for 
licensure. It takes approximately three weeks for approval of a license.  

 
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------- 

The permit expires December 31; there is no grace period.  
 

Transit licenses will not be issued at the Title and Registration Bureau’s counter on a 
same-day basis. 
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