The requirements and responsibilities of registration for violent offenders are explained in Title 46 Chapter
23 Part 5 of the Montana Code Annotated.

Who can petition (46-23-506)7
There are two ways for violent offenders to petition for removal from the violent offender registry:

¢ Mont. Code Ann. 46-23-506 (2)(a)-(b): Violent offenders who have registered for either 10 years
following their confinement or 10 years following the sentencing hearing if not confined may petition
the Court. In addition to the 10-year requirement, the violent offender must show they were not
convicted during the 10-year period of 1) failure to register as a violent offender; 2) failure to keep
registration current; or 3) of any felony crimes.

e Mont. Code Ann. 46-23-506 (3)(b): Violent offenders who have registered for either 10 years following
their confinement or 10 years following the sentencing hearing if not confined, but have been
convicted of failing to register or keep registration current or of a felony, may still petition the Court.
The Court may or may not grant the petition based on whether: 1) the offender has remained a law-
abiding citizen; and 2) continued registration is not necessary for public protection and that relief from
registration is in the best interests of society.

What words do | need to know?

e Petitioner- A Petitioner is someone who files an action in court. If you are asking the court to relieve
you of registering as a violent offender, you are the Petitioner.

What forms will | need to petition the court for relief of registering? - Use these instructions and
forms to petition to be relieved of registering as a violent offender. These forms cannot take the place of
advice from a lawyer. Contact a lawyer if you have any questions. Follow the instructions below to fill out
and file forms with the District Court.

e Petition Instructions

e Order Setting Hearing

o Petition for Relief Template
¢ Inability to Pay Form

The Petition asks the court to relieve you of registering as a violent offender and schedule a hearing. The
Order setting Hearing will be filled out by the judge and will tell you when and where your hearing will be
held.

Offender may or may not qualify to use the Inability to Pay Form to cover filing or copy fees. Follow the
instructions on the link to fill out and submit to your court. For more information, please visit
MontanalLawHelp.org



http://leg.mt.gov/bills/mca_toc/46_23_5.htm
http://leg.mt.gov/bills/mca_toc/46_23_5.htm
http://www.montanalawhelp.org/resource/form-and-instructions-to-ask-the-court-to-wai-2?ref=2Yefs

What do | do with the forms?

1. Fill out the Forms

L]
L]
L]

Fill out all the blanks on the Petition to Relieve Violent Offender of the Duty to Register.
Sign and date your Petition to Relieve Violent Offender of the Duty to Register.

Fill out the Judicial District, County, and caption on the Order Setting Hearing for Relief
from Designation. Highlighted in example below:

MONTANA JUDICIAL DISTRICT COURT,
(number of district in which your countyis located)
COUNTY
(name of your county)
Cause No.
(Your full name)

Petitioner,
ORDER SETTING HEARING
ON PEITITON FOR RELIEF
FROM REGISTRATION

State of Montana, (VIOLENT OFFENDER)
Respondent.

2. Make Copies

[]

Make one copy of each form after you have filled them out.

3. File Forms at the Courthouse

L]

[]

L]

Go to the Clerk of District Court’s office where you currently reside or where you were
sentenced. File the original Petition to Relieve Violet Offender of the Duty to Register
and Order Setting Hearing on Petition for Relief from Registration.

Give the Clerk of Court a self-addressed stamped envelope. Ask for a copy of the Order
Setting Hearing on Petition for Relief from Registration to be mailed to you after the
judge signs it.

Give the Clerk of Court a stamped envelope addressed to the County Attorney where
the petition is filed.

**Note- there are filing fees and possibly fees for copies, this will vary by county. For
assistance with filing fees, file the Affidavit of Inability to Pay form.

Give your copies to the Clerk of Court and ask to have them stamped as “Filed”. Keep
the copies in a safe place.

4. Go to your Hearing

L]

Bring your stamped copies of the documents you filed with the court.



Arrive at the courthouse at least 15 minutes before your scheduled hearing. Dress like
you were going to an important job interview.

Check with the Clerk of Court’s office to find the right courtroom for your hearing. Go to
that courtroom and wait for the judge to call your name and case number. Remember
to address the judge as “Your Honor.”

Important: After you receive your signed Order Relieving you of registering as a violent
offender, take the order to your local registering agency.



(Your telephone mmber)

MONTANA JUDICTAL DISTRICT COURT,
frember of district in which your county it locaned
COUNTY
(mame g your couwny)
Cause No.
iYour fill name) o

Petitioner.

PETITION TO RELIEVE VIOLENT
V. OFFENDER OF THE DUTY
TO REGISTER
State of Montana.
Respondent.

petitions this Court to enter an order relieving

{Tour fill name)
him / het of the duty to register pursuant to Mont. Code Ann. § 46-23-506(3)(a) on the
{circle ona)

basis that:

[ ]1Iam a violent offender and was confined after sentencing. I have been registered for

at least 10 years after release from confinement.
[ 11am a violent offender and was not confined following sentencing. It has been at
least 10 years since the conclusion of the sentencing heanng:
During the 10-vear period of registration T have been convicted of (indicate my which apply):
Failure to Register;
Failure to Keep Registration Current; and/or

a Felony offense.

PETITION TO RELIEVE VIOLENT OFFENDEE OF DUTY TO EEGISTER
FAGE1L



PREOCEDUEAL AND FACTUAL HISTORY

The following factual and procedural history 1s offered m support of this petition:

Petitioner's Name:

Petitioner’s Date of Birth:

Crimefs) for which Petitioner is registered as a Violent Offender:

Date of Conviction:

Date of Sentencing:

Sentencing Judge:

Date First Registered as Violent Offender:

Other:

[ ] I have attached the written Judgment wherein I am designated as a Vielent Offender.

[ ] I have also attached the following:

APPLICABIE LEGAL AUTHORITY — MANDATORY RELEASE — No Hearing

Montana Code Annotated § 46-23-506(2)(a) provides:

“An offender required to register for 10 vears under subsection (2)(a) may. after the 10
years have passed, petition the sentencing court or the district court for the judicial district 1n
which the offender resides for an order relieving the offender of the duty to register. The petition
must be served on the county attorney in the county where the petition 1s filed. The petition
must be granted if the defendant has not been convicted under subsection (2)(b).”

CONCLUSION

PETITION TO RELIEVE VIOLENT OFFENDER OF DUTY TO EEGISTER
FPAGE?



I hereby certify that in the period of my registration as a violent
(Tour full nams)

offender. I was not convicted of failing to register, failing to keep registration current. or of a
felony. Under Montana Code Annotated § 46-23-506(2)(a). I ask the Court to grant the
Petitioner relief from further registration as a violent offender.

DATED this day of , 20

{Petitioner Signanme)

CERTIFICATE OF SERVICE

I hereby certify that I caused a true and correct copy of the foregoing Petition to Relieve
Violent Offender from the Duty to Register to be mailed. first class postage prepaid. to:

{County Aftorney in the County where Petition is Filed)

Dated:

(Lf petitioning under the above section, the remainder of the form is not required.)



APPLICAEBLF TLFGAT AUTHORITY -DISCRETIONARY EFT FASE —

Hearing Required

“If convicted during the 10-year period provided in subsection (2)(a) of failing to register or
keep registration current or of a felony, [the offender must register] for the remainder of the
offender’s life unless relieved of the duty to register as provided in subsection (3)(h).”

Under subsection 3(b), the Court may grant the petition “upon finding:

(1) the offender has remamed a law-abiding citizen; and

(11) continued registration 15 not necessary for public protection and that relief from

registration 1s in the best interests of society.”

ARGUMENT
The Petitioner requests that this Court find that he/she 15 a law abiding citizen because:

The Petitioner requests that this Court find that continued registration 1s not necessary for

public protection and that relief from registration 1s 1 the best interests of society because:

Pursuant to Mont. Code Ann. § 46-23-506(4), Petitioner moves that all or part of the
proceedings 1n a heanng for this matter be closed to the public for the following reason(s):

{Complete if applicable)

PETITION TO EELIEVE VIOLENT OFFENDEE OF DUTY TO EEGISTER
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MONTANA JUDICTAL DISTRICT COURT.

(mumber of district in which your countyis lorated

COUNTY
(name g vour county)
Cause No.
{ Your fill name)

Petitioner.

ORDER SETTING HEARING
V. ON PEITITON FOR RELIEF
FROM REGISTRATION
State of Montana, (VIOLENT OFFENDER)
Respondent.

Upon the Petitioner’s Motion for Relief of Duty to Register as a Violent Offender,

and good cause appearing, this Court hereby sets a hearing on the menits of the petition to

be heard on the day of . 20 ) at

Dated this day of .20

DISTEICT COURT JUDGE

CC: COUNTY ATTORNEY
PETITIONER

OFRDER SETTING HEARING
PAGE]



