Montana’s End-of-Life Registry stores advance health care directives in a secure computer database and makes these documents available to health care providers. Section 50-9-501 of the Montana Code Annotated authorizes Montana’s Attorney General to create and maintain an End-of-Life Registry that:
Advance health care directives provide instructions about the level of health care someone wants or does not want in the event that they become seriously ill and unable to speak for themselves. Advance directives can be short, simple statements expressing someone’s values and choices. Advance directives are not used as long as an individual is able to express his or her own decisions on whether to accept or refuse medical treatment. They are used only when an attending health care provider determines that someone is in a terminal condition and is no longer able to participate in making decisions regarding medical treatment.
The Registry does not provide legal advice or legal services. Consumers should consult with their doctor, attorney or agencies that specialize in end-of-life care choices about any questions they have related to advance health care directives, living wills, health care (medical) powers of attorney and other personalized directives. Further information is available online including:
You cannot file or change an advance directive online. To register a directive, you must be at least 18 years of age.
Office of Consumer Protection P.O. Box 201410 Helena, MT 59620-1410
You may also wish to provide a copy of your advance directive to your physician or other health care providers. Providers are required to make your directive part of your medical record and to follow its provisions. When you name a person as your designee, the attending physician or other health care provider is required to follow the designee’s instructions.
Consumers can always change their minds about their advance health care directive. To change an advance directive registered with the Attorney General’s Office, mail the following to the Office of Consumer Protection:
Montana law defines a health care provider as a person who is licensed, certified or otherwise authorized by the laws of Montana to administer health care in the ordinary course of business or practice of a profession. This includes but is not limited to hospitals, doctors, skilled nursing facilities, nursing facilities, home health agencies, home health care providers, ambulatory surgery facilities and hospices.
The End-of-Life Registry program has worked with the Montana State University (MSU) Extension Service and MHA – An Association of Montana Health Care Providers to create a number of resources to help health care facilities implement the program:
Registry services are provided free of charge to health care providers and consumers.
If the online service is down or you are having trouble accessing a directive in an urgent situation, please call the 24-hour Help Desk toll free at (866) 675-3314. Health care providers should have their login information available.
Family and friends need their user name and access code, or name, Social Security number, date of birth and/or mother’s maiden name.
Once the information is confirmed, the Help Desk will fax or e-mail the advance directive.