Header Image

POST Council Members

The Montana Public Safety Officer Standards and Training (POST) Council is a quasi-judicial board

authorized by Section 2-15-2029 of the Montana Code Annotated.

The Council is responsible for establishing basic and advanced qualification and training standards

for employment of Montana’s public safety officers, as defined in MCA 44-4-401.

In addition, the Council:

  • conducts and approves training
  • provides for the certification and re-certification of public safety officers
  • is responsible for the suspension or revocation of certification of public safety officers

Council Members

The Council is to be made up of 13 members appointed by the Governor in accordance with MCA 44-4-402.

A list of specific Council Committees is also available.

NameRepresentingCityContact InfoTerm Expires
Jesse Slaughter, ChairSheriffGreat Falls[email protected]1/1/2025
Wyatt GladeMontana Board of Crime ControlMiles City[email protected]1/1/2023
Jim AndersonDepartment of CorrectionsHelena[email protected]01/01/2023
Matthew SaylerLocal Law EnforcementButte[email protected]1/1/2023
Leo DuttonMontana Board of Crime ControlHelena[email protected]1/1/2025
Mike McCarthyPublic RepresentativeHelena[email protected]1/1/2023
Kristine WhiteCounty AttorneyForsyth[email protected]1/1/2023
Mark KraftChief of PoliceSidney[email protected]1/1/2023
Jim ThomasPublic RepresentativeCanyon Creek[email protected]1/1/2025
Bill SmithDetention CentersKalispell[email protected]1/1/2025
Kimberly BurdickPublic RepresentativeFort Benton[email protected]1/1/2025
Jess EdwardsTribal law EnforcementBrowning[email protected]1/1/2023
Conner SmithState Government Law EnforcementHelena[email protected]1/1/2025
Skip to content