Header Image
Header Image

The Fatality Review Commission, authorized by MCA 2-15-2017, seeks to reduce homicides caused by family violence. The Commission meets twice yearly to review closed domestic homicide cases.

The review seeks to:

  • Identify gaps in Montana’s system for protecting domestic violence victims
  • Better coordinate multi-agency efforts to protect those most at risk of domestic homicide

After consulting with the Attorney General, the Commission determines which cases it will review. The Office of Victim Services coordinates the Commission’s work.

The Attorney General appoints Commission members from representatives of involved federal, state and private agencies, the medical and mental health community, law enforcement and the courts, Native Americans, the legislature and the MT Coalition Against Domestic and Sexual Violence.

Commission Members:

Name Position Organization City
Beki Brandborg Team Facilitator Mediator Helena
Caroline Fleming Executive Director Custer Network Against DV Miles City
Chuck Munson Asst. Attorney General Department of Justice Helena
Connie Harvey Therapist Self-Employed Lewistown
Dan Doyle Professor University of Montana Missoula
Dan Murphy
Detective Butte-Silver Bow Law Enforcement Butte
Dennis Loveless
Judge City Court East Helena
Diana Garrett Attorney Montana Legal Services Assoc. Missoula
Glen Stinar Administrator MT Law Enforcement Academy Helena
TBD Legislator TBD TBD
Jen Tveraa Probation & Parole Department of Corrections Missoula
Joan Eliel Team Coordinator Office of Victim Services Helena
Joan  McCracken
Sexual Assault Nurse Examiner Retired Billings
John C. Brown District Judge State of Montana Bozeman
John Buttram Licensed Professional Counselor Batterers’ Treatment Program Kalispell
Lee Johnson
Investigator Division of Criminal Investigation Bozeman
Martha Rhoades Psychiatrist Billings Clinic Billings
Marti Vining Division Administrator Child & Family Services Division Helena
Suzy Boylan Prosecutor Missoula County Missoula
Warren Hiebert Chaplain Gallatin County Sheriff’s Department Bozeman

Native American Domestic Violence Fatality Review Team Members:

Name Position Organization City
Andy Huff Attorney Private Practice Helena
Beki Brandborg Team Facilitator Mediator Helena
Bryan Drake Asst. U.S. Attorney Office of the U.S. Attorney Billings
Dale DeCouteau Mental Health Manager / Suicide Prevention Coordinator Fort Peck Tribes Wolf Point
Eric Barnosky Regional Administrator HHS/CFSD Miles City
Erin Harris Victim Specialist FBI Billings
Georgette Baggio Attorney Private practice Hardin
Harlan Trombley Native American Liaison Department of Corrections Great Falls
Joan Eliel Team Coordinator Department of Justice Helena
Lacey Alexander-Small IMPACT Coordinator Big Horn Valley Health Center Hardin
Lenora Nioce Asst. SA in Charge Bureau of Indian Affairs Billings
Leslie Hagen Indian Country Training Coordinator U.S. Department of Justice Columbia, SC
Melissa Schlichting Asst. Attorney General Department of Justice Helena
Mistee Rides at the Door Presenting Officer Blackfeet Family Court Browning
Neil Websdale Director National DV Fatality Review Initiative Flagstaff, AZ
Stacie Smith Chief Judge Fort Peck Tribes Poplar
Stephanie Iron Shooter Caring Schools Coordinator Office of Public Instruction Billings
Steve Lowe  Special Agent FBI Billings
Wendy Bremner Victim Specialist Bureau of Indian Affairs Browning

Biennial Report – While the Commission meetings and records are confidential, state law requires it to publish a report detailing its findings and recommendations.

The National Domestic Violence Fatality Review Initiative, housed at the Northern Arizona University, acts as a clearinghouse and resource center dedicated to domestic violence fatality review.

The Alliance of Local Service Organizations (ALSO), based in Chicago, profiled the work of the commission in a 20-minute movie. The film explores and explains the process the commission follows when it conducts a review. The film is available here on the group’s website.


For further information about the Fatality Review Commission, contact:

Joan Eliel, Executive Director
Office of Victim Services
Department of Justice
P.O. Box 201410
Helena, MT 59620-1410
Phone: (406) 444-1907
Fax: (406) 442-2174
E-mail: [email protected]