Licenses and Permits
Most of the forms related to the Gambling Control Division’s broad licensing and permitting responsibilities are available on the Gambling and Liquor Forms page (with the exception of new Card Dealer License applications – see process below). Many applications and permits can now be applied for online through Taxpayer Access Point (TAP) by visiting https://tap.dor.mt.gov.
Montana law requires anyone dealing cards in a live card game of panguingue or poker to have a card dealer’s license. The license must be renewed annually on the dealer’s birthday. Click here to renew online.
How to Apply for a Standard Card Dealer License
- Go to a local driver exam station to have your photo taken and get an application packet OR if this is a renewal of your license, click here to renew online.
- Complete all the required forms, obtain fingerprints and enclose a check for the appropriate amount:
- $102.25 for a new application
- $52.25 for a renewal
- $10.00 for a replacement
- Mail the completed application and check to: Gambling Control Division
Department of Justice
2550 Prospect Avenue
P.O. Box 201424
Helena, MT 59620-1424
If your application is approved, your standard card dealer license will be mailed to you within four weeks.
How to Renew a License that has Expired within the Last 30 Days
If you fail to renew your dealer license by its expiration date, within 30 days you can renew it by following the same process that is used to apply for a temporary license. You must complete the application form and submit a check for $52.25 along with two fingerprint cards. You must complete the section on the application form regarding any new criminal history information.
If you fail to renew within the 30-day period, follow the instructions for applying for a standard license application.
How to Apply for a Temporary Card Dealer License
Beginning July 1, 2007, people applying for a temporary card dealer license must:
- Go to a local driver exam station to have your photo taken and pick up an application packet.
- Call a Gambling Control Division Office to make an appointment for an interview. Division offices are located in Billings, Bozeman, Butte, Glasgow, Glendive, Great Falls, Helena, Kalispell and Missoula.
- Bring the following to the interview:
- a completed application
- two completed fingerprint cards
- a check for $102.25 for the new license application fee
The Gambling Control Division makes every attempt to process requests for temporary licenses within 24 hours. If you meet all of the legal requirements, your temporary license will be available at the division office or, in some cases, at a local Workforce Services office, on the next business day. If your application is approved, your standard card dealer license will be mailed to you within four weeks.
Raffle tickets must be sold to people within geographical boundaries of the State of Montana.
Raffle ticket sales may not be conducted over the Internet. While raffles may be advertised over the Internet, such advertisement must explain all raffle terms, including the prohibition on Internet ticket sales and sales to people outside of Montana.
Except for non-profit organizations and schools, the value of any raffle prize may not exceed $5,000, and the prize must be owned by the person conducting the raffle prior to the sale of any raffle tickets.
Change in Law for Raffles
Previously, people who intended to hold a raffle needed to obtain a permit from the local board of county commissioners. Under SB 86 passed by the 2009 Legislature, it is no longer necessary to obtain a raffle permit. Those conducting raffles are subject to record keeping requirements as provided by administrative rules.
The Gambling Control Division does not issue the permits needed for amusement games.
The permits to operate amusement games as outlined in 23-6-103 of the Montana Code Annotated are available from the local board of county commissioners for the county in which the game is to be made available for public play.